I CAN TASTE THE FLAVOUR OF RIPENING

I CAN TASTE THE FLAVOUR OF RIPENING

Crisp coolness captures
My senses; touches the tip
Of my nose

I look to the vegetable plot, it’s
Waiting a whisper of warmth
A last caress.

Root crops are safe to remain,
Clay wrapped around their roots
Underground recipes.

I think of ripening rose-hips
Early elderberries, tonics,
To be made.

I hear the blackbird among
The thickening blackberry
Bulging bushes,

Anticipating ambush; it’s
Still September; but I feel the
Changes coming….

Spirit warmed by promise,
Colours to charm berries, and
Apples from trees, before –

Winter’s tip pierces like holly
And the air becomes full of pine
And peat-smoked scents.

3 thoughts on “I CAN TASTE THE FLAVOUR OF RIPENING

  1. Pingback: I CAN TASTE THE FLAVOUR OF RIPENING | POETRY AND ENVIORNMENT

  2. hi Helen, I really liked this poem, ” I can taste the flavour of ripening”, a real sense of awakening the senses. It reminds me of Patrick Kavanagh or Francis Ledwidge, but yet is distinctly you! lovely use of alliteration and cadences in the verse and choice of words. Well done, you are a real poetess at heart. I also like “Jumping Streams”, that is in the poetry book we have too. The pictures add another dimension to the words.

    All the best,

    Beatrice and Michael.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment