The benefits of bees when it comes to moisturisers and creams

Our bees are in serious trouble and the realization hit home today when I went to my usual shop to purchase beeswax for my creams, with the shop assistant saying they’d run out of it and finding it difficult to source some because of the decline of honey bees. She put my order in for whenever she can manage to get some…My homemade moisturiser is the least of my worries and it just saddens me to think about the general plight of bees. We’re all in trouble if bees go extinct. We can all do our bit to encourage them into our gardens by letting a small patch of lawn to go wild (we personally don’t have a lawn instead letting the wildflowers thrive) and fill up with flowers like clover and vetch. If people care enough about the next generation then please hesitate before you eliminate every weed from the garden, they’re there for a reason, and they feed our bees. We need the bees more than they need us, so don’t be too fussy tidying up the garden and treating it as an extension of your home. http://www.birminghamupdates.com/david-attenborough-is-urging-you-to-save-the-bees/
A list of ingredients here (page well used so a bit grubby with oils) of my last batch of cream and much it’s cheaper than buying and made from natural ingredients.

DSC03899

I tend to use almond oil instead of coconut as full of vitamin & minerals and have never used cocoa butter or alkanet root as hard to get, but as you see my cream has a nice consistency and the beauty of this cream is that your skin can breathe through it. Many skin-types don’t need moisturiser at all and the most important thing is to keep your skin clean so it can produce its own oils. It is what you eat that will show through in your skin. Stay hydrated also.

facecream (3)

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment